East Valley SELPA Steering Committee

The East Valley SELPA Steering Committee is composed of the special education administrators of each participating member district of the EV SELPA, the area director of the East Valley Operations of the San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools Office and the administration team of the EV SELPA. The district and county special education administrators are responsible as individuals for the operation of their special education programs to ensure that all eligible children with disabilities receive appropriate services.

Responsibilities of the Steering Committee include:

  • Collaborating with the EV SELPA Administrator regarding the status, accomplishments and needs of special education programs operated within each school district;
  • Providing leadership and support through inter-district relationships to implement the EV SELPA Local Plan, including any regionalized programs and services;
  • Coordinating and facilitating the day to day responsibiities of district special education personnel and utilizing other available district resources to improve special education services in accordance with the provisions of the EV SELPA Local Plan and decisions made by the Board of Directors.
  • Participating in the development of appropriate special education services which will ensure that when specified in the pupil’s IEP, children with disabilities will have access to the same education programs as for non-disabled children; and programs and services will be equivalent to those of non-disabled children at the same grade/age level.
  • Assuring their local education agency’s implementation of the East Valley SELPA Local and Fiscal Allocation Plans.

The 2023-2024 EV SELPA Steering Committee members include:

Dr. Patty Metheny, Chief Administrative Officer - East Valley SELPA & Facilitator of the Committee

Mr. Rob Pearson, Director Pupil Personnel Services - Colton Joint Unified School District

Ms. Patti Buchmiller, Executive Director Special Services - Redlands Unified School District

Dr. Sonya Scott, Lead Special Services Agent - Rialto Unified School District

Ms. Torri Burke, Director Student Services - Rim of the World Unified School District

Ms. Peggy McFee, Interim Area Director - San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools East Valley Operations

Ms. Leslie Burghardt, Executive Director Student Services - Yucaipa-Calimesa Joint Unified School District

Ms. Jennifer Brooksby, Program Manager Regional Services - East Valley SELPA

Dr. Rick Homutoff, Program Manager Due Process - East Valley SELPA

Ms. Andrea Tennyson, Fiscal Consultant - East Valley SELPA

Ms. Rosalva Contreras, Administrative Assistant - East Valley SELPA


Minutes and Agendas 2024-25

Minutes and Agendas 2023-24

Minutes and Agendas 2022-23

Minutes and Agendas 2021-22

Minutes and Agendas 2020-21

Minutes and Agendas 2019-20